MKMMA week 22 Sounds of silence

sitting-in-silence
Silence is a source of great strength. Lao Tzu.

When I was in scouting I was “tapped” out into a a special group called Order of the Arrow. Part of the Initiation right was to go three days without speaking. Most of the weekend was spent alone in reflection in the woods. But other times there were other initiates around and as we did chores and labor it was difficult not to speak. I remember yelling in my mind a lot trying to direct others actions. I also remember having conversational thought arguing back and forth over things I as thinking. It was a experience and a terrific exercise. I am proud to say I made it through the three days and can add another accomplishment to the list of wonderful things done in my life.
As we prepare to spend time in silence this week as part of our MKMMA exercises, I am wondering how it will change from my earlier memories. At this point in my life I do spend a lot of time alone. I do not own a TV. I feel that I spend quite a bit of time in general reflection. But to focus on silence for a couple of days will be a good process. I am already hearing my subby screaming…
Speaking is easy but silence is hard.

I also look forward to experiencing some of the things others have gained from the silence experience. I have listed them below. I have also included a great song by Simon and Garfunkel. The Sounds of Silence. I R2A2ed the lyrics and they have great corollary to our MKMMA learnings. Life will never be the same because of this course. So cool. Thanks MKMMA team.

Silence teaches to be happy with less. Pick something that’s weighing you down and let it go. Your life will thank you.

Silence teaches that less is more. A few simple words well spoken have more power than hours of chatter.

Silence teaches to appreciate the value of relating to others. Take time to really listen. Deep listening expresses deep appreciation.

Silence teaches how important it is to let go of distractions. Turn off phones and distractions. Paying attention will be easier.

Silence teaches the importance of shaping your thinking. Each day to notice your thoughts and let go of thoughts that don’t serve you.

Silence teaches to notice nature. A short walk outside in silence will discover the wisdom and peace that nature has to offer.

Silence teaches to be in my body. “What sensations do I feel in my body parts” Learning to feel your body can calm your troubled mind.

Silence teaches the importance of reducing the stimulation. Quiet time everyday will show how settled your mind can become.

Silence teaches that the world is a rich texture of sounds. Sit outside close your eyes. Amazing sounds will appear.

Silence teaches that people display great beauty. Watch people with an open heart and be inspired.

Silence teaches that space helps define difficulties. Recognize your difficulties with honer when they arise.

Silence teaches that love can be simple. Love all mankind and tell them.

Silence teaches the courage it takes to be still. Stillness lets what we are running from to catche up. The next time you are afraid, stop and wait for it to pass. There is immense courage inside your heart.

Silence teaches it’s immense power to endure. Recognize self doubt and doubts from others, silently vow not to give up. Action speaks volumes.

Silence teaches to have faith in self. Conquer anxiety in silence and find the space of deep faith that lives in your heart.

Silence teaches the importance of truth. Notice the little lies you tell yourself and try telling the truth instead.

Silence teaches gratitude. Ask yourself each day what am I grateful for. Honor your blessings.

Silence teaches simplicity and joy are close companions. Simplify on thing in your life each month and find your life become easy.

Silence teaches that words can get in the way. Do something in silence with someone you love. Enjoy their presence.

Silence teaches a deeper truth than words ever could. Feel the truth in your heart that silence reveals.

Sounds of Silence

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.
In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone,
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp,
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence.

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more.
People talking without speaking,
People hearing without listening,
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence.

“Fools” said I, “You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you,
Take my arms that I might reach you.”
But my words like silent raindrops fell,
And echoed
In the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made.
And the sign flashed out its warning,
In the words that it was forming.
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets

Are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls.”
And whisper’d in the sounds of silence.

12 thoughts on “MKMMA week 22 Sounds of silence

  1. Pingback: Week 22 : prayers and sit for increasing successful vibrations | Armelle Masterkey 2016

  2. josette millar

    Beautiful post. thank you. Silence is so powerful. I’ve incorporated silence a lot in my life. My challenge for this silent process is not to do anything. I believe I replaced the noise by actions. Now, it is time to be silent and still. Definitely another level!

    Like

    Reply
  3. lindasue88

    Michael, I too am eager to hear how your 2017 Silence touches you. I must say, for me, it’s one thing to be physically silent, & quite another thing to be internally Silent. I get glimpses, & value them greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

